Select Page

180,000 deaths from burns every year – can we talk about it ?

The curse of burns is a big problem. In France, this issue affects thousands of people each year are, yet we rarely talk about it. On a global scale, the phenomenon is most severe in developing countries, where the causes and consequences of burns are often unknown.  

Each year, 180,000 people across the world die from burns, according to the World Health Organization (WHO). In Southeast Asia, burns claim more female victims than AIDS or malaria. In France, more than 8,500 people were hospitalized with burns in 2011, according to the French Institute for Public Health Surveillance. This figure includes 219 who died due to their injuries. In comparison, in France in 2014, the flu caused 317 deaths, AIDS was responsible for 359, and sudden infant death syndrome claimed the lives of 157 babies. Information and prevention campaigns are available for all these causes.

We take less interest in burns, perhaps because most of us have already been burned once more or less superficially and have healed. However, even if they are not lethal, burns cause numerous handicaps: they disfigure, they disable, and they can prevent those injured from working and from living a normal life. Nearly 11 million people in the world were treated for burns in 2004, according to WHO, and 95% of them lived in developing countries.

Accidents involving open fires

In developing countries, burns represent the most frequent accident in domestic life, due to inattention or negligence. A child turns over his cup of hot chocolate on himself, an adult pours a glass of alcohol into the barbecue embers, an elderly person doesn’t close their hot water bottle properly, a smoker falls asleep in bed with a lit cigarette… In developing countries, many families do not have access to electricity and domestic equipment – they use open fires for cooking, heating and lighting. It’s these wood fires, these portable kerosene stoves, and these oil lamps, which lead to burns.

Absence of fire safety

In Ethiopia, for example, 80% of accidents take place in the home. They primarily concern women and children, burned by flames, boiling liquids or stove explosions. Cramped housing and overpopulation increase the risks. In developing countries, where there are few fire safety measures, men are victims of chemical and caustic agents or electrocution in their workplace; and seven times more children die of burns than in developed countries.

Women disfigured by acid

However, fire is not the only cause of burns. These injuries can also be caused by boiling liquids and steam, direct contact with a hot object, a blast or explosion, electrocution, and chemical agents. They can also be caused by contact with cold or even the sun. Burns also reveal the violence carried out against children when they are mistreated, and against women. The terrible crime of disfigurement by acid causes misery and suffering in countries from Southeast Asia to the UK. The victims are predominantly female, often attacked by family members seeking vengeance. They suffer permanent scarring and ongoing health issues, and are rejected and ostracized by society. Thus, the fight against burns becomes an issue of human rights.

Sélectionner une page

180 000 morts par brûlures tous les ans, on en parle ?

Les brûlures représentent un fléau considérable. En France, ce sont des milliers de personnes par an qui sont touchées par cette problématique dont on parle peu. À l’échelle mondiale, le phénomène s’accentue dans les pays en voie de développement, avec des causes et des séquelles souvent méconnues.

Chaque année, 180 000 personnes meurent de brûlures dans le monde selon l’OMS (Organisation mondiale de la santé). En Asie du Sud-est, les brûlures font plus de victimes chez les femmes que le Sida ou le paludisme. En France, plus de 8 500 personnes ont été hospitalisées pour brûlures en 2011, selon l’Institut de veille sanitaire. Parmi elles, 219 sont mortes des suites de leurs blessures. En comparaison, en 2014 en France, la grippe a fait 317 morts, le Sida a causé 359 décès et la mort subite a vu mourir 157 nourrissons. Des causes pour lesquelles il existe des campagnes d’information et de prévention.

On s’intéresse moins aux brûlures sans doute parce que chacun s’est déjà brûlé une fois de façon plus ou moins superficielle et qu’il en a guéri. Pourtant, quand elles ne tuent pas, les brûlures sont aussi à l’origine de nombreux handicaps : elles défigurent, elles invalident, elles empêchent de travailler, de poursuivre une vie normale. Près de 11 millions de personnes dans le monde ont été soignées pour brûlures en 2004, selon l’OMS. 95 % d’entre elles vivent dans des pays en développement.

Accidents autour des feux ouverts

Dans les pays développés, les brûlures sont le plus souvent des accidents de la vie domestique dus à l’inattention ou l’imprudence. C’est l’enfant qui renverse sur lui son bol de chocolat chaud, c’est l’adulte qui verse un verre d’alcool à brûler dans les braises du barbecue, c’est la personne âgée qui ferme mal sa bouillotte, c’est le fumeur qui s’endort au lit cigarette allumée. Dans les pays en voie de développement, beaucoup de familles n’ont pas accès à l’électricité et aux équipements domestiques : elles utilisent des feux ouverts pour la cuisine, le chauffage et l’éclairage. C’est autour de ces feux de bois, de ces réchauds au kérosène, de ces lampes à pétrole que surviennent les brûlures.

Absence de sécurité incendie

En Ethiopie par exemple, 80 % des accidents ont lieu à la maison. Ils touchent principalement les femmes et les enfants, brûlés par les flammes, par des liquides bouillants ou par des explosions de réchaud. L’exiguïté des habitats et leur surpopulation augmentent les risques. Dans les pays en voie de développement, où il existe peu de mesures de sécurité incendie, les hommes sont victimes d’agents chimiques et caustiques ou d’électrocution sur leur lieu de travail. Sept fois plus d’enfants meurent de brûlures que dans les pays développés.

Femmes défigurées à l’acide

Le feu n’est donc pas la seule cause de brûlure. Ces blessures peuvent aussi être provoquées par les liquides bouillants et la vapeur, par le contact direct avec un objet chaud, par une déflagration, une explosion, par électrocution, par des agents chimiques. Mais aussi par le contact avec le froid ou tout simplement par le soleil. Les brûlures révèlent aussi les violences faites aux enfants quand ils sont maltraités, et aux femmes, victimes de vengeances familiales : dans certains pays de l’Asie du Sud-est, des filles sont défigurées à l’acide. Elles en gardent des séquelles définitives et sont rejetées et ostracisées. La lutte contre les brûlures devient alors une cause des Droits de l’Homme.