Select Page

Treating burns: a field of medicine that requires resources

From intensive care to the most everyday support, victims of large burns need extensive treatment. Burn treatment research is breaking new ground in tending to their needs and relieving their pain.

There’s a household remedy that advises applying butter to heal a burn. This treatment, based on popular belief, should be banished: it aggravates the trauma. To treat burns today, medicine has developed care that is by far more technical and inventive. For example, in 2016, a team from Tel Aviv University in Israel developed technology to control the multiplication of collagen cells that form scars by sending electrical micro-impulses to the burn area. This innovation considerably reduced the extent of scarring produced during healing. Since early 2017, doctors in Brazil have been treating burns with the skin of tilapia, a freshwater fish rich in collagen – a less costly technique than bandages made of organic pigskin or human amniotic membranes. Indeed, treating large burn victims often requires significant and costly human and material resources.

Victims with large burns vulnerable to infection

The burn care center at Saint-Louis Hospital in Paris is ultramodern, housed in a building that opened in June 2012. It is organized according to one simple principle – all the services the patient needs are assembled in his room: operating room, surgery, resuscitation, balneotherapy, infirmary, testing, treatment and washing. The goal is to never move the burn victims, who are very vulnerable to infection because their damaged skin no longer acts as a barrier against contamination. The room temperature varies between 30-38°C (86-100.4°F), and the relative humidity level is 60%, to prevent hypothermia and dehydration in patients. Each room is equipped with two areas: an incoming clean airlock and a decontamination airlock for personnel and materials to avoid any germ circulation. In this unique setting in France, the doctors perform grafts with skin taken from the patient or a donor, and epidermal cell cultures to create artificial skin. At the end of each hospitalization, the room is cleaned with deadly gas, with all doors hermetically sealed.

Treatment by phage therapy

There is also a burn care center at Percy Military Hospital, in Clamart, in the southwestern suburbs of Paris. A newly constructed building was opened in October 2015 to receive more patients. In this hospital – dedicated to treating soldiers returned from war fields as well as victims of disaster, accidents or attacks – several therapeutic methods are being tested. In the fight against infections that afflict victims of large burns, the treatment center resorts to phage therapy: using bacteriophages (viruses) to destroy the bacteria that infect the ill, rather than using antibiotics or antiseptics to which the bacteria become resistant. Compresses soaked in a diluted solution containing these viruses are applied to the patients’ burns. The results are promising.

Sélectionner une page

Soigner les brûlures, une médecine qui demande des moyens

De la réanimation aux soins les plus quotidiens, les grands brûlés ont besoin d’une prise en charge lourde. La recherche dans le traitement des brûlures innove pour les soigner et soulager leurs douleurs.

Un remède de grand-mère conseillait d’appliquer du beurre pour guérir une brûlure. Ce traitement, issu des croyances populaires, est à proscrire : il aggrave le traumatisme. Aujourd’hui, pour soigner les brûlures, la médecine a mis au point des soins autrement plus techniques et inventifs. Par exemple, en Israël, une équipe de l’université de Tel-Aviv a développé en 2016 une technologie pour contrôler la multiplication des cellules de collagène qui forment les cicatrices en envoyant des micro-impulsions électriques dans la zone de la brûlure. Cette innovation permettrait de réduire considérablement l’étendue des cicatrices produites lors de la guérison. Depuis début 2017 au Brésil, des médecins soignent des brûlés avec de la peau de tilapia, un poisson d’eau douce riche en collagène. Une technique moins chère que les pansements biologiques en peau de porc ou à base de membranes amniotiques humaines. Car la prise en charge des grands brûlés nécessite souvent des moyens humains et matériels importants et coûteux.

Les grands brûlés sensibles aux infections

A l’hôpital Saint-Louis de Paris, le Centre de traitement des grands brûlés est un lieu ultramoderne logé dans un bâtiment ouvert en juin 2012. Il est organisé selon un principe simple : concentrer dans la chambre des patients tous les services dont ils ont besoin : bloc opératoire, chirurgie, réanimation, balnéothérapie, infirmerie, examens, soins, lavements. Le but est de ne jamais déplacer les brûlés, très sensibles aux infections car leur peau, lésée, ne fait plus barrière aux contaminations. Ici, la température varie entre 30 et 38°C, le taux d’humidité est de 60%, pour éviter hypothermie et déshydratation des patients. Chaque chambre est équipée de deux sas : un sas propre entrant et un sas de décontamination des personnels et des matériels pour éviter toute circulation de germes. Dans ce lieu unique en France, les médecins pratiquent greffes de peau prélevées sur le patient ou sur un donneur, et culture de cellules d’épiderme pour produire une peau artificielle. A la fin de chaque hospitalisation, la chambre est nettoyée à coups de gaz mortel, toutes portes étanches fermées.

Le traitement par phagothérapie

L’hôpital militaire de Percy, à Clamart, a lui aussi son centre de traitement des grands brûlés. Les travaux d’un nouveau bâtiment qui ont débuté en octobre 2015, lui permettront d’accueillir plus de patients. Dans cet hôpital qui soigne les militaires revenus de théâtres de guerre, mais aussi les victimes de catastrophe, d’accident ou d’attentat, plusieurs essais thérapeuthiques sont tentés. Dans la lutte contre les infections qui assaillent les brûlés, le centre de traitement des brûlés a recours à la phagothérapie : on utilise des virus bactériophages pour détruire les bactéries qui infectent les malades au lieu d’utiliser des antibiotiques ou des antiseptiques auxquels les bactéries deviennent résistantes. Les compresses appliquées sur les brûlures des patients sont imbibées d’une solution diluée contenant ces virus. Les résultats sont prometteurs.